Hello you pickleballers,
We had a good couple of days at the Club’s courts. Lot’s of dinking and some impressive smashes, but also some confusion about order of play, like who serves or receives when there’s a “side out” after a team loses the service. Let’s start by quoting the rule book (please excuse the necessary but complicated language)
- “When the serving team’s score is even (0,2,4,6,8,10) the player who was the first server in the game for that team will be in the right-side court when serving or receiving ; when odd (1,3,5,7,9) that player will be in the left-hand court when serving and receiving.”
Well, that settles it! Or maybe not! So let’s see how that plays out for a few points:
Let’s say team A/B wins the spin and elects to serve first against team C/D. As the initial serve is always from the right-side of the court, player A serves from there after calling the score, 0-0-2, which is his/her team’s score (0), the other team’s score (0), with the “2” recognizing that the team starting to serve in a game only gets to have one player serve, hence the last and only server. From here on in the game, when A/B team’s score is an even number (0, 2,4,..), “A” will be on the right-side and “B” on the left-side for serving and receiving, and vice versa when their score is an odd number. In this case, “A” relinquishes service, not having gotten a point.
“Side out” now happens and team C/D serves, with C electing to serve first, from the required right-side of the court. From here on in the game, when C/D team’s score is an even number (0, 2,4,..), “C” will be on the right-side court and “D” on the left-side court for serving and receiving, and vice versa when their score is an odd number. “C” then serves after calling the score (0-0-1), their team score (0), the opponent’s score (0), and “1” that recognizes that “C” is the first server of the team. “C” does not make a point so the service goes to “D,” who serves from the left-side court with a score of 0-0-2. Let’s say “D” makes a point and then misses one.
“Side out” now happens and A/B gets the service back, with “A” serving from the right-side with the score 0-1-1 . “A” makes a point and then serves from the left-side with the score 1-1-1 to “C” on their left-side court (remember C’s on the left-side whether serving or receiving when their team score is an odd number ). “A” doesn’t make point and “B” serves from…… you got it, their right-side ’cause the team score is an odd number (1). “D” receives on their right-side with their score still an odd number. So, on and on………
Hope you are informed, if not fallen fast asleep.